The Stop

"I spit that uptown-body-rock-rolley-hop, and will a nigga ever shut me down? prolly not. Cause ever since I was a young lad I crushed emcees, kickin' ass takin' names at the trolley stop."

- Jay Electronica

Wednesday, August 20, 2008

School of Hip Hops [Foreign Exchange] program

Foreign Exchange - Connected

1. Foreign Exchange Title Theme
2. Von Sees
3. Raw Life
4. Hustle, Hustle
5. Let's Move (Feat. Big Pooh)
6. Nic's Groove (Feat. Big Pooh)
7. Be Alright (Feat. Median)
8. Sincere
9. Brave New World
10. The Answer (Feat. Kenn Starr, Oddisee & Sean Boog)
11. Come Around
12. Happiness (Feat. Big Pooh)
13. Foreign Exchange End Theme
14. All That You Are (Feat. Median)
15. Be Alright (Nicolay's Easybreezy Sunday Afternoon Remix)
16. Call
17. Downtime (Nicky Troutman's Bounce To The Ounce Remix)

I just dug this one outta the crates after a long time of having it collect dust, and now it's time for the review. Foreign Exchange is a collaboration between Phonte (of Little Brother) and a producer hailing from the Netherlands called Nicolay, hence the duo's name Foreign Exchange. This album is another chill out classic (Best of section here we come!). Nicolay lays down some laid back beats for Phonte to do his thing over, and Phonte comes correct on every beat. Phonte speaks on many different things, including happiness, and love; very down to earth lyrics which can be easily related to. The production of the album is very soulful, you can taste the passion put into it. Nicolay's production is quite simple, it doesn't have many samples in it, it consists more of vocals in the backdrop, heavy bass, drums, and snares, all wrapped up into a relatively slow tempo. To me this album is ideal for nighttime listening. I highly recommend this. Don't sleep on it like I did.

Get It!

*A special thanks to my brother for encouraging me to listen to this album.*

1 comment:

Dustin dArnault said...

That's right ! Little Brother and Nicolay are the best in hip hop right now!!!!!!!